News and Events

Mt Hutt ‘all systems go’ for 40th season opening (13-Jun-13)
Immaculately groomed slopes and a genuinely warm welcome await avid skiers and snowboarders.....

Queenstown’s Coronet Peak ski area first to open in Australasia (10-Jun-13)
Queenstown’s Coronet Peak ski area today (June 8) celebrated in style as the first Australasian ski field to open for winter....

Coronet Peak first ski area in Australasia to open on Saturday (05-Jun-13)
Queenstown is officially open for winter as the 2013 season kicks off at Coronet Peak on Saturday (June 8).

Ski Areas Go Out With A Bang! (27-Sep-12)
Season extension and half price passes

Aussie Teens Win 23rd Jame Boag's Abom Mogul Challenge - Again! (31-Aug-11)

Sunday 28 August, Mt Buller : An impressive line-up of athletes from across Australia and around the world gathered on the Summit at Mt Buller in glorious sunshine yesterday for the iconic James Boag’s ABOM Mogul Challenge.  In it’s 23rd year this prestigious moguls event continues to attract a stellar international line up vying for the $8,000 prize purse.

Abom Challenge

Photos: Andrew Railton/Mt Buller.

In one of the closest and exciting dual men mogul runs spectators could see anywhere Matt Graham took on 2010 Olympic Champion Alexandre Bilodeau just beating out the Canadian to a cheering crowd.   Both Matt and Alexandre have notable track records in the event; Alexandre taking the title in 2007 and Matt securing his third consecutive James Boag’s ABOM Mogul Challenge victory yesterday.

In the women’s division, 2010 winner Britteny Cox also faced strong competition but showed good form and speed to take glory and secure her second consecutive title.

A good line-up of young athletes in the Youth category put on an impressive display on the 185m bumps course with local skiers from the Team Buller Riders crew taking out both divisions – Jakara Anthony in Girls and Angus Cronin-Guss in the Boys division.


Matt Graham (AUS)

Alexandre Bilodeau (CAN)

Jae-Woo Choi (KOR)

Hugh Norton (AUS)


Brittney Cox  (AUS)

Taylah O’Neill (AUS)

Nicole Parks (AUS)

Pip Sparrow (AUS)


Angus Cronin-Guss ((Team Buller Riders)

Matt Anthony (Team Buller Riders)

Max Bernard (Team Buller Riders)

Banjo Plummer (Team Buller Riders)


Jakara Anthony (Team Buller Riders)

Krystie Yin (Perisher Winter Sports Club)

Eliza Honan (Team Buller Riders)

Amber Turner ((Team Buller Riders)

Abom Challenge





Fresh Peaks Site Map
Fresh Peaks is a proud member of 1% for the Planet. Click here to see what it is all about.